Meet new OIFE Board member Malene Sillas

My name is Malene Sillas. I‘m 27 years old (soon to be 28) and I was born with OI type 1/4.

Since I was born, my family has attended the national OI meetings in Denmark, and through these meetings, I have made lifelong friendships that are still a very important part of my life today. Back in 2018, I became a board member of the Danish OI organization DFOI which I still am today. In the board, I’m in charge of our youth group and representing our national organization in OIFE.

In January 2022 I finished my master’s degree from Aarhus University, where I have been studying education science. During my time at the university, I was a student politician at the students’ council, where I mainly represented the students in political meetings, boards, etc., and advocated for better conditions for students’ wellbeing. Because of this, I have a deep understanding of different political systems and advocacy in general which I hope can be useful for the new OIFE Board. Since finishing my master’s degree I have been volunteering at the Danish children’s helpline, and I just did an internship as an educational consultant.

When I’m not working or doing OI-stuff I’m, what some might call, still stuck in lockdown trends because I knit an awful lot. I’m also the proud parent of a sourdough starter, that I made during the first lockdown, and named after the head of the Danish health authority. If you’re looking for sourdough tips, or just have other questions, don’t hesitate to contact me.

Malene Sillas, Denmark

Translate »